Thursday, July 6, 2017

Art of Anarchy - The Madness

When the music world lost Scott Weiland, he left behind lots of great memories, and also some fellow musicians that still had the urge to continue on with their music endeavors.  While most people would list Stone Temple Pilots or Velvet Revolver as the first choices for this void, I was referring to his loosely associated band Art of Anarchy.  Now, let's be real, Scott didn't invest much time and effort into this band, despite the lineup having some fame with GnR's Ron "Bumblefoot" Thal or Disturbed's John Moyer.  Once hearing the band put out their debut album, I was very impressed with both the production and the musicianship.  The vocal were obviously awesome, but the band definitely had a good sound going.

So after the untimely death of Scott, the band was left with yet another void to fill.  It's almost uncanny they hired another 90's hit maker, and a singer with his own personal issues to work out.  In a shock to the music world, Creed's Scott Stapp had come out of hiding (after his series of drug abuse and counselling session) and stepped up to the plate.  This was a different dynamic for Scott to work with.  It was heavier, faster, and more along the lines of metal.  I guess that's interesting on how the other members of Creed formed an equally heavier band called Alter Bridge.

(Photo courtesy of Century Media Records)

Anyways, Art of Anarchy came roaring back with their new singer, and a new album.  I was over impressed with the compatibility of the members.  While Scott's voice was recognizable, Scott's deep voice complimented the sound of the band, and can be heard throughout the first few tracks such as "No Surrender", and "The Madness".  Keep in mind that they can definitely keep the ballads coming as well, such as "Let You Down".

While I have always been a Scott fan since his "Human Clay" days, I really hope that Scott continues on with Art of Anarchy.  I think it's a great fit for him, and the band has sounded better than ever (there are a few shredding moments throughout the album that are fantastic).  It also seems like a great mutual benefit for all parties as well; Scott gets to continue making music like he always has, as well as his name bringing a slew of fans and some popularity.

"The Madness" was released on March 24th, 2017 via Century Media Records.

(Album artwork courtesy of Century Media)

1. Echo of a Scream
2. 1000 Degrees
3. No Surrender
4. The Madness
5. Won't Let You Down
6. Changed Man
7. A Light in Me
8. Somber
9. Dancing with the Devil
10. Afterburn

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Full Album Stream: Born of Osiris - The Eternal Reign

Born of Osiris is a five piece group hailing from Palatine, Illinois.  The group has put out four LPs, and now two EPs under the current BOO moniker.  While this was expected to be B-sides and rarities (like most bands do for rehashing old material), Born of Osiris took a different path by re-recording their debut EP, adding a new track, and played it in it's entirety during their early 2017 tour.

On Feb. 24, Born of Osiris will release The Eternal Reign, which is a completely re-recorded and re-envisioned version of The New Reign. The release also includes a brand new song titled "Glorious Day". The track, which is available for your listening pleasure, was one of their first originally written for The New Reign, but it didn't make the cut. -AXS

"The Eternal Reign" was released on February 24th, 2017 via Sumerian Records.  The album was produced by Nick Sampson, who has also worked with bands such as Erra, Miss May I, We Came As Romans, Asking Alexandria, and many more!  For this EP, the group consists of:

Ronnie Canizaro - Vocals | Joe Buras - Vocals/Keyboards/Synth
Lee McKinney - Guitars | David Darocha - Bass | Cameron Losch - Drums

(Album artwork courtesy of Sumerian Records)

1. Rosecrance
2. Empires Erased
3. Open Arms to Damnation
4. Abstract Art
5. The New Reign
6. Brace Legs
7. Bow Down
8. The Takeover
9. Glorious Day

Wrapped and topped with a big bow for their die-hard faithful, The Eternal Reign improves upon the debut with polished production that results in a sharper, more punishing attack. While the original sounded like the band was trapped inside a thick fog, the 2017 update reveals more range to the Osiris spectrum. -All Music

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Eighteen Visions - XVIII

Not long long ago, back in 2004, I was absolutely cranking this new album called "Obsession" in my home, my old man's car, and on my headphones to and from school.  While this was Eighteen Visions' third album on a major label, this was my first album with them.  I saturated it like a sponge, much like everything when you're 17 years old.

Well as luck would have it, they jumped on a major tour across Canada/US alongside 36 Crazyfists, From Autumn To Ashes, and Killswitch Engage.  It was almost guaranteed to be both one amazing show, and a high grossing tour for all the bands.  Jumping into a car with three of my buddies, we booked it down the highway to London, ON to The Drink Nightclub to watch the chaos unfold.  Eighteen Visions didn't have the pull like the headliners obviously did, but damn did they sound great in their signature black dress attire.

(Photo courtesy of Travis Shinn)

After another partially successful self-titled album in 2004, Eighteen Vision decided to call it quits and move onto solo projects.  I casually followed James when he was doing Burn Halo albums, but at that point my music tastes exploded, and was onto other bands.

However, when I hear that Eighteen Visions decided to 'get the ol gang back together', I will admit I was a bit hesitant.  Not that I didn't have faith they could make music again, but if their age got the best of them, only to cash in on a  little notoriety if you will.  So after a few months of waiting, I finally sat down and listened to "XVIII", the return of 18V.  I was not only happy to hear the return, but daaaammmnnn they kept it heavy!  Tracks such as "Live Again" and "Oath" bring the down-tuned screamo back full circle, just like they did for "Tower of Snakes".

The guys have really hit their mark with their return to the music scene after ten years of bands coming and going.  James' vocals are on point for both pitch and storytelling.  They album cover, the music videos, and the sound are bringing back that black signature look of the band.  It's almost as if they had nothing left to lose when making this new album and just went back to what they knew.  I give them great kudos for this, as this album has been spinning more times than my roommates care to hear. haha

"XVIII" was released on June 2nd, 2017 via [newly inked relationship] Rise Records.

(Album artwork courtesy of

1. Crucified
2. The Disease, The Decline, The Wasted Time
3. Underneath My Gun
4. Live Again
5. Laid To Waste In The Shit Of Man
6. Oath
7. Spit
8. Picture Perfect
9. Fake Leather Jacket
10. For This I Sacrifice