Thursday, March 12, 2015

Coal Chamber - Rivals

Well look who has new tunes after a thirteen year hiatus!  That's right folks, Dez and the folks from Coal Chamber are back with their new single "I.O.U. Nothing", and their upcoming album "Rivals", set to hit stores on May 12th, 2015 via Napalm Records.

(Photo courtesy of Coal Chamber and Metal Injection)

Let's start first with the single, because that's what everyone came to the site to hear about!  I.O.U. Nothing is the latest dish that CC are serving.  It definitely gives a throwback feeling to Coal Chamber, as the iconic vocals of Fafara kick in right after the hard-hitting drums, guitar, and bass.  I truly hope that fans understand the difference between what is done in Devildriver and what is done in Coal Chamber.  Devildriver I always found to be the erratic ADHD brother of Coal Chamber.  They are fast paced, sizzling riffs, and breakdowns-a-plenty.  Coal Chamber (I found) have relied on keeping it simple, full of hooks, and getting people to bang their heads.  "IOU Nothing" brings me back to golden days of "Rowboat", "Shock The Monkey", and "Friend".

"'I.O.U.' touches on those feelings of you being ‘DONE’ with someone emotionally to the point of knowing you owe them NOTHING, no more time, no more feelings, no more phone calls or exchanges of any kind and the Christmas cards are not coming anymore so don’t check the mail!" -Fafara

'I think we’re climbing towards the sun / Falling over everything, falling over everyone / Just kick the planets aside / Come with me the universe will provide'. 

That lyric is a direct statement to not let anyone or anything in life get in your way, and sure enough if you make the right moves and do ‘the right thing,’ then the Universe will provide!" -Fafara

As we inch towards the release day in May, new videos and songs have surfaced for promotion. The latest release titled "Suffer In Silence" (as of April, 2015) features Ministry main man Al Jourgensen as special guest.

Not a bad start to the album eh?  Well, there happens to be twelve other tracks waiting to be listened to, as I am sure more singles will be released in the coming weeks.  For now, you can check out the album artwork, and track listing below.  Once again, this album is May 12th, 2015 via Napalm Records (Devildriver's latest label).  More information will be added as it comes in!

(Photo courtesy of Napalm Records and Coal Chamber)

1. I.O.U. Nothing
2. Bad Blood Between Us
3. Light in the Shadows
4. Suffer in Silence
5. The Bridges You Burn
6. Orion
7. Another Nail in the Coffin
8. Rivals
9. Wait
10. Dumpster Dive
11. Over My Head
12. Fade Away (Karma Never Forgets)
13. Empty Handed

“This record was over 13 years in the Making and I promise this record won't disappoint and will be worth the wait! Rivals is solid through and through, there's maturity and growth in the music while still maintaining the true COAL CHAMBER sound and delivering track after track of killer tunes! We had a great time working together on this record and I hope you all enjoy it as much as we do!” -Fafara

(Photo courtesy of

Be sure to head over to Coal Chamber's Facebook page to check out all the upcoming tour dates spanning across North America, and Europe.

No comments:

Post a Comment